Friday, June 13, 2008

2008 Chapter Officers

SfN Members:

At the Dallas Area Neuroscience Group chapter meeting today, we held elections for chapter officers. Our officers, to serve for the remainder of the 2008 calendar year, are as follows:

President: David Wallace Croft
Vice President/President Elect: Vikram Jakkamsetti

We will begin accepting nominations for the 2009 chapter officers in 2008 November with elections in December.

Tuesday, June 10, 2008

2008 Chapter Nominees

Dallas Area Neuroscience Group SfN Members:

Our 2008 SfN conference travel grant award chapter nominees are:

Postdoc: Cory A. Blaiss, Ph.D., UTSW
"Neuroligin 3R451C point mutation, but not NL3 deletion, leads to autism-relevant behavioral abnormalities, suggesting that the R451C mutation acts through a gain of function"

Graduate Student: Terina Martinez, UTSW
"Adipose derived adult stromal cell transplants repair rat spinal cord contusion injury by modulating extra cellular matrix proteins"

Our thanks to our anonymous judges and Vikram Jakkamsetti for their help in making these chapter nominations happen.

We are having chapter officer elections this Friday:

Thursday, June 05, 2008

SfN Travel Award

Graduate Students and Postdoctoral Trainees:

The Dallas Area Neuroscience Group is pleased to participate once
again in the Society for Neuroscience (SfN) Graduate Student Travel
Award Program.

The program provides a travel stipend to the SfN
annual meeting to a graduate student nominee selected by our
chapter. If you would like to be considered, please e-mail your
annual meeting abstract to before 5pm June 9th 2008.
For eligibility requirements, please see the SfN website:

If you are a postdoctoral trainee and you would like to be considered
for a Postdoctoral Travel Award,please send us your SfN annual
meeting abstract to For further details please see:

The abstracts (minus the author list and institute name) will be sent to an independent Professor and the abstract selected by the independent professor will be nominated by our chapter to vie for the award amongst other nominees from other
chapters in the nation. In the three occasions that we nominated a student, our students won the travel award.

If your abstract is selected, we will be contacting you immediately
for these digital documents:
• Completed application form
• Copy of the abstract submitted for the annual meeting
• A one-page curriculum vitae from the nominee including the
following information: education, including the date at which nominee
advanced to candidacy for the PhD, honors/awards, publications
(abstracts and manuscripts)
• A one-page letter of recommendation from the advisor

If you have any questions, please feel free to email

Sunday, June 01, 2008

2008 Officer Elections

Dallas Area SfN Members:

We are overdue for elections for officers of our local SfN chapter. We plan to fix this by holding elections in two weeks on Friday the 13th at 1 PM. We will meet in the neuroscience lab hallway in the UT Dallas multi-purpose building. Elected officers will serve for the remainder of the 2008 calendar year. For more details, please call.

We are also gearing up for the annual travel grant award selections. We have a volunteer to head the selection committee for the post-doc travel grant awardee. Now we need a volunteer to head the selection committee for the graduate student travel grant awardee. If you are interesting in volunteering, please call or e-mail: (214) 636-3790 or